Boise, Idaho, with “The Boss” – July 6

Well, things didn’t go quite according to plan in Boise.  This part of the trip was planned around visiting with my friend and first private dance instructor, JD.  Which I did.  But JD has become a package deal since I met him in Orlando at the Arthur Murray Dance Studio.  He has since joined the United States Air Force (yes, we all say a heartfelt “Thank you for your service to our wonderful country, JD!”); in addition, he has married a beautiful young woman and they had their first child, Boston (Boss for short) a few months ago.  Of course I was looking forward to meeting the rest of the “package.”

But the little Boss had a different agenda (proving why he really is the boss).  He was running a fever the previous couple of days and needed to have some bloodwork done, so he and Mama weren’t able to join JD and I.  <Very sad face!>

IMG_7330So JD met me at The Villages, a really neat outdoor mall.  It’s loaded with great restaurants and outdoor seating to enjoy the beautiful weather — and it was perfect!  It’s centered around a fountain that is synchronized to music that is featured every half hour or so.  Very cool.

IMG_7332 JD is the absolute nicest young man you’d ever want to meet; and he is the best example I know to represent his Mormon faith.  I’m so proud to be able to call him “friend” and it was a highlight of my journey to lay eyes on him after three or four years (I’ve lost track).

But I need to backtrack a little bit.

My host in Salt Lake City suggested that I take a western route through Utah and Nevada to get up to Boise.  Great suggestion, Ron.

I got to see the famous Salt Lake, although it really just looks like any other lake.  But I also got to see the salt flats, IMG_7308which was kind of neat.  And I got to travel through Nevada a little bit.

I stopped in Jackpot, Nevada, for gas and facilities.  Not a big deal, but heretofore I hadn’t mentioned that I’ve had company along that I picked up in Memphis.  (My pal Ken Worrow told me to try to pick up a guy in every city, so I was successful in Memphis, Ken!)  But he’s a bit of a celebrity and wouldn’t let me photograph or mention him until we hit Jackpot, NV, figuring that he was distant enough from Memphis so as not to attract the paparazzi.  Just wanted to give you a heads up that you might recognize him in some of my pics.  But it’s entirely on the “down low,” so not a word to ANYONE!  At any rate, while in Jackpot I learned that he really digs Kleidsdales!

So, I get to Idaho. . .

I’m driving along the streets of Twin Falls.  I could just as easily have been driving down S.R. 436 in Orlando or Route 8 outside of Cleveland.  Just your everyday busy street lined with Walgreens and Costcos.  But then the earth suddenly splits open right smack dab in the middle of it!

THEN I went to Boise, where I stayed in another AirBnB home.  Hosted by a young professional couple with a teenage boy, this was a great house!  The bedroom next to me was being rented by a young German student.  Outside our rooms was a nice little living room area and a nice kitchenette.  Another great AirBnB experience and a great night’s sleep!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment