Oy vey! – Little Rock, Arkansas – July 2nd

LittleRockOnly a few of you are aware of how I’ve organized my sleeping accommodations for this trip.  I’ve pre-arranged everything through a website called AirBnB.  For the most part, it’s comprised of people who have a spare room that they rent out to travelers.  I was able to see photos of the hosts and the accommodations and they also had to approve ME.

 

Well, my first night’s experience left a bit to be desired.  The young couple I stayed with were very sweet and kept a clean house, but don’t live in a very good neighborhood.  The first thing I did when I woke up the next morning was to peek out the window to see if my tires were still on my car.  They were.

Those who know me well know that I’m just not a pet person.  I don’t have ANYTHING against pets.  I’m just not interested and prefer not to be licked, jumped on, or otherwise harassed by animals.  And pet odors — to say I’m not fond is an understatement.  So seeing the THREE dogs immediately upon arrival made me a little concerned.  The fact that my room smelled of cat urine (mildly, but noticeable) coupled with the cat itself reclining on the windowsill immediately next to my toilet was even more disturbing.  But I sucked it up, swabbed my nose with some fragrant oil I found in the bathroom, and settled in for the night.

(By the way, if you click on pictures, you can arrow through them.  To get back to the blog, you have to click the little “X” in the upper LEFT-hand corner of the slideshow.)

Oh!  I failed to mention the two young tykes also in the mix.  “Thomas” appeared to be about three, while “Sparrow” looked to be about 9-10 months.  I also don’t have ANYTHING against kids!  But I prefer that they sleep through the night, not scream as if their fingernails are being pulled out one by one from 2:30 to 3:30 in the morning!  And that is not just a colorful exaggeration.

So after a terrible night’s sleep, I got the hell out of Dodge before man or beast arose in the morning.  Well, that’s not entirely true.  IMG_7146This one beast was curious enough to come see me off as I happily let the door hit me in the ass on the way out.

arkansas

Click me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oy vey! – Little Rock, Arkansas – July 2nd

  1. Charlene says:

    A most interesting ‘kick’ on rte 66. Chalk it up as an experience to be forgotten!

    Like

  2. jdfuller84 says:

    Ha! That does not sound like a very pleasant stay. Cat urine is one of the most dreadful smells to deal with!

    JD Fuller, SSgt, IDANG
    MTE Ground Radar Journeyman
    266 RANS/MCJFD, Mountain Home AFB
    DSN: 728-3344
    859.620.9444

    Sent from iPhone

    >

    Like

  3. Sandy says:

    Oh my gosh, Sue. You can’t seem to stay clear of pets and kids. Someone trying to tell you something. Lol Enjoying your posts from abroad. Keep um coming. Be safe! 🙏🏻

    Like

  4. I second that “oy vey”!

    Like

  5. Terri Winefordner says:

    Don wanted to come rescue you! He’s reading, too!

    Like

Leave a comment