I’m goin’ to Graceland, Memphis, Tennessee!

MemphisAfter a lifetime of believing that Elvis could be my cousin (my mother’s maiden is Presley and she grew up in Tennessee), I have FINALLY seen his Mempis home!  I’m more convinced than ever that we’re related.  We had the same taste in tacky furnishings!Paul Simon

But seriously, being a tween at the time that Elvis was first rising to fame was a very special time.  His impact on the music landscape is monumental.  Until the Beatles came along (and never again since) has any musical artist held such a special place in my own history.  Hearing one of his tunes never fails to evoke special memories and deep regret that he’s not here shakin’ his thang on stage.

It was a very moving experience for me.  I’m so glad I went.  Everything looks even tackier in person than in the pictures I’ve seen.

Afterward, I ate at Marlowe’s BBQ Pit, as featured on the Diners, Drive-ins and Dives show on the cooking channel.DSCF1357 IMG_0233 IMG_0236 IMG_0237 IMG_0239 IMG_0240 IMG_0241 IMG_0242 IMG_0243 IMG_0244 IMG_0246 IMG_0247 IMG_7118 IMG_7132 IMG_7135 IMG_7137

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m goin’ to Graceland, Memphis, Tennessee!

  1. Carla says:

    What a Rock Garden! And now the King of Rock … ‘n’ Roll. Ooh, I can smell the BBQ! YOU ROCK!

    Like

  2. Carla says:

    And you’re on a roll!!!

    Like

Leave a comment